Skip to content

Itschristopher's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

So don’t play! They will eff you up!  And no I don’t mean in some revolutionary sense, or anything.  I mean don’t mess around with stuff that has to do with the government because they will abuse the CRAP out of you until you feel like a Tijuana hooker after a 12 hr shift.

So i got one of those nifty traffic camera tickets awhile back, in November or December (totally innocent though, Andy Dufresne status).  Take my word on the innocence, I just don’t want to bore you.  ANYHOO, so i went in late January or early February, I’m not sure which (frickin memory) to extend the court date.  But when I talked to the person (teller?) at the courthouse he said there was no record of a ticket or anything.  “Incredible!” I thought.  “They must have realized my innocence and thrown out the ticket.  They’re so thoughtful,” I said to myself foolishly while some white collar official entered into a giggle fit.

Next thing you know, I get a letter on April 29 saying that I missed my court date, and now have a$734 penalty for not appearing.  WHAT THE FRICK.  It might as well have been one of those Harry Potter Howler letters that screamed in my face.  So today I had to get up at 7, wait in line next to the ONE chatter box, who decided to tell me about all his problems, and how he used to make so much money, but he got wrongly fired, and if ONLY he hadn’t spent so much money in his youth on all the worldly debauchery he could find, then maybe, just maybe, he wouldn’t be where he is today; mostly all I heard, though, was “blah blah blah, I’m gonna falsify my life history to make it sound like my life was better, because that type of fantastical rationalization is better than facing the fact that I screwed up, and should probably take responsibility for my life instead of blaming it on different circumstances.

Then I finally got called to the window, and scheduled my court date for Dec 13 at 8:30am.

