Skip to content

Itschristopher's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Hey ya’ll.  Been a while.

I hope this isn’t awkward though, like when you see someone you used to know, but weren’t great friends with, and you’re not sure if you’re should say “hi” or not, so you pretend not to see them, but then you can’t help but eventually look at them, and then you make eye contact, so you have to say “hi,” and then you don’t really know what to do after “-yeah I’m good, and you?” even though they already said they were good, so you both kind of chuckle,  and there’s that awkward pause where no one knows what to say and then one of you remembers you have that thing to get to, but it was nice seeing the other person.

But nahhhh, this isn’t like that.  We’re great friends.

The kind of friends where you don’t get to see them as much anymore, but as soon as you hang out, it’s like you never were apart, and after a while you just both laugh at how weird it is that you don’t see each other anymore, but you’re still such good friends, as if you’d never been apart.

Anyways, so I’m in Europe.  I did London ‘n’ all that, as well as Paris, and now I’m sitting in my hostel waiting to leave for Barcelona.  It’s day 11 today, and man, it feels like a lot longer.  Hence the title, bitter-sweet.  It’s sweet because I’m in freakin EUROPE, you know? Nawmean?!  But then it’s bitter, because I’m starting to get pretty homesick, but I’m praying and trying not to think about it.  I’m not exactly sure why I’m so homesick, because I went to Asia/Australia in 2008, and I didn’t really start to get any homesick till like week 4 or 5, but I’m barely on DAY 11!!  It’s been a week and a half!!!  We still have 31 more days left.  Maybe it’s because I’m not with family this time (last time it was with my 3 cousins, my older brother, and some red-headed girl that enjoys my Borat impressions).   This time it’s with my two buddies Larry Wong and Jason Trac, and it’s way different.  In the mornings, when there’s not as much to do, and we’re just waking up and waiting for the day to begin, is the time when it hits (and at night time too, when I lay my little head to sleep).  So we’ll see how the rest of the trip goes, we’ve got to see some really cool stuff, and met some cool people.

Next stop is Barcelona!

